Training Facility Strategy

In this forum, some different strategies of OrcSports are brought up in articles and/or discussions.

Training Facility Strategy

Postby randomluck » Wed May 30, 2007 10:28 am

Recent comments made by Tune have me wondering about various Training facility strategies. I'd like to add my two cents to get this conversation started.

(All opinions are those of an inexperienced Overlord who has never made it to Elite and do not represent the views of Brett, Orcsports, or most sane people).

First Off:
When to Buy training facilities?
As a newbie I purchased Training facilities early expecting to see a difference in my team. This is wrong, wrong, wrong (and just plain not right). Experience trumps skill most every time. That said, I am running an experimental team where I plan on keeping the same orcs for as long as possible. To be competitive, these orcs must train up since the I will not add new orcs to the team.

Why buy training facilities?
I buy training facilities to give a boost to important skills (more on that later). However, training hurts and tires orcs, so if your training your front line, expect to rotate them out early and often.

"Important" skills?
IMHO, the most important skills to train are GET, SNEAK and EEK. The reason I choose these facilities first over others is because normally my playing orcs will not benefit from training. Instead, I need to up my looting capabilities. Its much better to have a Merchant Looter than a Slum looter, and the difference is Skills. I think Experience has nothing to do with successful looting.

In this way, training facilities are a "long term" option.

Are Training facilities necessary to compete?